Blue Hill
Home Up Blue Hill Brooklin Brooksville Castine Penobscot Sedgwick

 

Up

Blue Hill was one of the townships granted to David Marsh in 1762 and originally known as Plantation #5.  It was renamed North Andover, and then in 1767 renamed again to New Port.  The 1789 town charter established the name as Blue Hill.  Before 1882, more than 133 vessels were built in the town.  Shipbuilding and trading created prosperity, evidenced by construction of stately homes.  In the 1880’s silver mining made Blue Hill a boomtown at about the same time the first “rusticators” were drawn to the area, coming by steamer to build summer cottages along the shore.  Today, Blue Hill is known as much for culture as commerce.

More on the History of Blue Hill - http://www.bluehillme.com/pgs/history.html

[Info thanks to Blue Hill Peninsula Chamber of Commerce, Bay Community Register and "Memories of Haven Colony, Brooklin, Maine"]