|
Sedgwick was settled as part of Township #4 of the Marsh Grant (as well as Brooklin and parts of Brooksville) in 1763 and originally called Naskeag. The name was changed to Sedgwick, probably to honor Robert Sedgwick, the English Major General who ousted the French from Castine in 1654. In the early days Sedgwick was well known for shipbuilding, canneries and a silver mine. The town was incorporated in 1789, part of the town was taken to form Brooksville in 1817, and Brooklin separated from Sedgwick in 1849. For pictures and more information and history on Sedgwick - http://www.rootsweb.com/~mesedgwi/index.html |
[Info thanks to Blue Hill Peninsula Chamber of Commerce, Bay Community Register and "Memories of Haven Colony, Brooklin, Maine"] |