Castine
Home Up Blue Hill Brooklin Brooksville Castine Penobscot Sedgwick

 

Up

Conquest dominated the early  of Castine.  Beginning in 1604, a succession of French, British, Dutch and American flags flew over the peninsula named Pentagöet by the French.  The French had a trading post here as early as 1613.  In 1628, the British settled and established a second trading post, which they lost to the French.  The town is named after French Baron de St. Castin, who married the daughter of  Madockawando, a sagamore of the Tarratines.  Because of its strategic harbor, the British occupied Castine in 1779 and 1814.  Castine was incorporated as part of Penobscot in 1787 and in 1790 became the shire town for Hancock County with offices and courts, and remained so until 1838.  In 1796, Castine separated from the town of Penobscot and became independent.  Its customs house, built in 1803, is the oldest continuously used post office in the U.S.  Visitors can enjoy “A Walking Tour of Castine” following signs posted around the village which outline fifty historic sites and buildings.  Castine is also home to the Maine Maritime Academy, which was founded in 1941.  Also of interest in this beautiful town is Dyce’s Head Lighthouse.

Favorite Places in and around Castine - http://home.ezonline.net/~aem/castine.html

                                                        http://www.resourcehelp.com/hiscas.htm

[Info thanks to Blue Hill Peninsula Chamber of Commerce, Bay Community Register and "Memories of Haven Colony, Brooklin, Maine"]